Just A Note

How about this for a get well soon card?  I do not normally make such bulky hard to ship cards like this one.  This is my first real hand made flower, I cut out the circles myself using a double scalloped edge scissor.  I used my Silhouette for the leaves.  The butterfly is from an edge punch (scraps from it).  The center of the flower is a really old button.  The kids playing the piano is a digi stamp from Stitchy Bear Stamps, the phrase is from Sentimental Sundays weekly freebies.  I squirted the card front with my glimmer mist to add just that little bit of extra sparkle.  The only mistake I made is by adding the scented glitter paint around the outside – I thought it would look super cool, but I really should have tried it before using it on my finished product!  😦

***Tip***

When using something new, always try a sample on scrap paper before using it on your final project.

Thanks for looking!

A Gem of a Challenge – sketch

Cute Card Thursday – sketch

Card Makin Mamas – Pink (there is some pink on the flower and the girls dress.

Alota Rubber Stamps – fall themed w/some kind of bug on it (a butterfly is a bug…)

Sarah Hurley – Bling & Sparkle

Shelly’s Images – Garden Party, make your own Flower Embellishments

Digi Doodle – anything goes

AiFactory Challenge – Anything Goes – all of August

Paper ShelterDie Cuts and Punches

Little Red Wagon – news print

Clear It Out –  glitter it

Paper play time – anything goes

Make It Monday – Inspire me!

Catered Crop – recipe

  • Colors – tones of pink, brown
  • Stamps and Stickers – butterflies, text/script, sentiment
  • Color Mediums – stamping/distress ink, and acrylic paint
  • Embellishments –  glitter/Stickles
  • Techniques – use digital stamps, edge the card with paint

Top Tip Tuesday – Masculine Card (men like flowers too…at least my husband does – plus he’d like this because he is a pianist…)

One Stitch At A time – Pretty In Print – Bling it up!

digis With Attitude – anything Goes

Anything Goes Challenge Blog – Inspired by TV/Films (American Idol)

15 comments on “Just A Note

  1. Fab card and your flower is fab – I wouldn’t call your use of the glitter a ‘mistake’ !!! Nevertheless it is a GREAT Top Tip you have left – I too wish I’d done that a few times 😉

    Thanks for joining us over at Top Tip Tuesday this week for our Masculine Challenge.
    Have you made a note on your calendar so as you don’t miss our Birthday Bash week after next? £100’s of prizes!!!

    Carol x

  2. Oh Karen, I absolutely LOVE this card 🙂 – the dark grungy maroon is right up my alley…love those cut out leaves too. Thank you so so much for sharing your stunning card with me and the girls at OSAAT – Good Luck with the contest 🙂

    stitchy
    xoxox

  3. Hi Karen
    Your card is beautiful – I just love the gorgeous colours and how you placed the image in the corner! Love the flower too! Thanks for stopping in at my blog and leaving such a sweet comment!
    Hugs, Danielle

  4. Back again with a different hat on..lol. I still think your card is wonderful and it’s great that I get to come back and look at it some more. 🙂
    Thanks so much for playing with us at Make It Monday!!
    Lisa xx
    Remember, for a chance to win the prize from our sponsor, just leave a comment for another entry. Mention you saw them on Make It Monday. The more entries you comment on the more chances you have of winning! WOO HOO!!

  5. Your flower is beautiful and I love that Duet image. I haven’t used mine yet, but your card is inspiration to make one now. 🙂
    Love the distressed papers and the mist around the outside really does look nice. Your TIP is a great thing to remember as well. Wish I had applied that several times in the past when I’ve ruined a card. 😦 LOL
    Thanks so much for playing with us at Top Tip Tuesday for our “Masculine” challenge.
    Good luck to you…
    Lisa xx

Leave a Reply

