Loss of a child…

With a heavy heart last night my husband informed me that his best friend’s granddaughter was in the hospital on life support.  She supposedly fell at the babysitters and was critically injured.  This morning with an even heavier heart he came in to ask me to please make a sympathy card for the little two year old had passed.  The loss of  a child is always so difficult don’t you agree?  I never feel like a sympathy card can do any justice to what the family must be going through.  I contacted Paulette from Create With TLC and asked her if she had anything that might be fitting for this situation.  While waiting for a reply I also searched through the Fred, She Said store.  I came up with something from both sources.  I made two different cards for my husband to choose from.  I found this sentiment online and thought it was so beautiful and expressed what I would want to say..

“The world may never notice
if a rosebud doesn’t bloom
or even pause to wonder if the petals fall too soon
but every life that ever forms
or ever comes to be
touches the world
in some small way for all eternity
the little one we longed for
was swiftly here and gone
but the love that was then planted
is a light that still shines on
and though our arms are empty
our hearts know what to do
every beating of our heart says
We will remember you.”

Here are the two cards I made.  The first is using the rose frame sent to me by Paulette from Create With TLC.  The second is from Fred, She Said.

DSCF4598

DSCF4600

Now to see what one my husband prefers to send…I do hope this will bring some sort of peace and comfort to this dear sweet family in Oregon.  Loads of prayers for them all would be much appreciated!

Karen C

Aud Sentiments Challenge Blog – Use ANY sentiment

Inky Impressions Challenges– Add A Sentiment

Word Art Wednesday (up to 5 entries)Inspirational Sentiment

9 comments on “Loss of a child…

  1. What a beautiful cardS you have made in such tragic circumstances. The loss of anyone is awful but a child is so hard to bear for those involved. Thank you for taking part in the Aud Sentiments Challenge this fortnight and I wish you the best of luck in the draw. Best wishes, Kym (Aud Sentiments Design Team Member) xxx

  2. That’s an incredibly sad story Karen. Those cards will both be a great comfort though even nothing can completely heel that pain of loosing a child. Love the designs with the comforting sentiment and those gorgeous flowers. Thanks for playing at Inky Impressions and good luck. Hope to see you back later today for a new challenge. Bettina xx

  3. Karen,
    This tragedy is too sad. Your cards are beautiful and will show the family that you are touched by their loss and trying to assuage some of their grief. Please let your husband know that we extend to him sincere sympathy as he supports his best friend during this very sad situation.
    Thank you for joining us at Word Art Wednesday so we can pray for you and this family.
    Carole Robb Bisson
    May the Blessing of the LORD be Upon You and the extended family who have lost their precious child!

  4. These are beautiful cards. I hope I never need to have one but if I do I now know where to find a great example! I hope this brings them some comfort. Just having a miscarriage was so awful for me that I cannot imagine having & holding them for 2 years & then losing them. I didn’t handle the other very well. Hugs~P

  5. it’s 37years tomorrow since my daughter died. I am so pleased for your husband to give this card. All I have of my daughter are a few cards and two certificates ….. the only proof that she lived.
    Thank you for this post……. I love the second card.
    xxxxxxxxx

  6. Karen: What an incredibly sad story, but this beautiful card will be a comfort. I will email you with another poem I have about children who die, and their direct connection with the Lord. It may also comfort these people. Thanks for sharing this in our challenge, and please know that I am feeling for you and this precious family today.
    Blessings,
    Karen
    Word Art Wednesday

Leave a Reply

