Hello Christmas! From A Mrs. Claus.

Hello Christmas!  Yes, I know it is before Thanksgiving!!  Today was my first Christmas train of the year playing the wonderful role of Mrs. Claus.  This is one of my favorite roles to play.  Why?  Because this is where I really get to feel the spirit of Christmas.  Seeing the magic in the kids’ eyes, getting all the hugs, being able to hold the sweet babies, hearing the wishes of all the kids (young and old) and being able to work with an amazing Santa Claus.

DSCF5661

This photo was taken today.   The Saturday BEFORE Thanksgiving.  Can you believe it?  Those smiles are real!  We do three runs a day 10am, 12:30pm and 3:30pm, every weekend before Christmas.  Because I am only one of the Mrs. Claus’ I don’t get to do every run.  This year I get four days worth (today being the first of the four).

I have had the honor to work as one of the Mrs Claus’ on the Thunder Mountain Railroad‘s Santa Train every year for the last 4 or 5 years.  When people see the prices for seats most will cringe.  My answer to the cringe is this:

“When I was a little girl (around 5-7 years old) my Grandma took me to San Francisco, California.  Just her and me.  We went by Amtrak and come home on an airplane.  She wanted to make one special trip with each of her grand-kids so that they would have a special memory of their grandma.  I still recall that trip and that special time with my Grandma.  I can pretty much guarantee it was well over a couple hundred dollars!  But how much was spent isn’t the important thing, what is important, is the fact that it’s a memory I will always have.”

I have a co-worker friend who takes her grand-kids every year on this train.  They love it!  It is such a special time for them.   She didn’t take them two years ago and boy did she hear about it!!  I think she learned her lesson.  haha

I just wanted to share my fun experience with you all and to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving and a  very Merry Christmas and I pray that you will make some happy memories with the ones you love.

Mrs. Claus

a couple pictures of us in action:

DSCF5624

DSCF5662

DSCF5675

DSCF5680

3 comments on “Hello Christmas! From A Mrs. Claus.

  1. Wow…what a wonderful experience. How fun that you can bring such memories and joy to little ones at Christmas. I agree, I think this is one of those things that you just need to find a way to do with your children. Such memories.
    Paulette

Leave a Reply

