Winter Condolences

I frequently have people asking if I would make them a sympathy card.  I pretty much HATE doing sympathy cards.  I feel a card is never quite enough to express the sorrow the giver is sharing.  I think the hardest sympathy card I ever made was one where the family lost their 15 yr old son.  How in the heck do you express your sorrow?  Anyway, I went ahead and did something I rarely do with this card, I made multiples (three).  I love this image from Delicious Doodles called A Crofters Winter.  This is one of those images like her Sunset At Seas image where all you have to do is let the image fill in the whole card.  All you have to do is maybe add a ribbon and a few gems.  For this all I added was the ribbon, gems and then “colored” the image with some Crystal Stickles.  I love my Stickles!!  I then digitally included a sentiment and framing and that is that!  This is all one layer (not counting the bow and gems, lol).

DSCF5777Love it!!  Thanks for looking!

One Stitch At A Time (up to 3 entries) – Anything Goes

Scribble & Scrap Blog & Challenge – Always anything goes

Make It Monday – Always ANYTHING GOES!

Ribbon Carousel –   anything goes

Creative Card Crew –ANYTHING GOES

Tuesday Morning Sketches –  Sketch –  anything goes

Word Art Wednesday (up to 5 entries)uplifting

Rhedd & Rosie’s Challenge Blog (no more than 3 entries)– Let it snow

Shelly’s Images Blog (up to 5 entries) – Welcome Winter

Outlawz Twisted Thursday – single layer

Delicious Doodles (one entry per person) – White Christmas

A Gem of A Challenge – anything goes

22 comments on “Winter Condolences

  1. Love the use of crystal stickles. Such a beautiful card. Thank you for playing along this week at OSAAT. I sure hope to see you back again very soon. Good Luck in the challenge!!!

    TTFN,

    CraftyGirl OSAAT DT
    craftygirlcardsandcrafts.blogspot.com

  2. Great card, it’s beautiful in it’s simplicity, just what a sympathy card should be. X
    Thanks for joining us at Rhedd & Rosies challenge blog.
    Hugs
    Fiona x

  3. That is exactly my ‘technique’ with sympathy cards – I make multiples, and also set aside time to make many at once. I find that helps me get them done without getting too bogged down in how sad they are to send & receive. This one is just gorgeous, very soothing. So glad you’ve shared again at TMS!

  4. The Crystal Stickles is a really nice touch, Karen. It’s a beautiful image and card. Thanks for joining in our challenge over at Twisted Thursday this week!

  5. Just a stunning use of this beautiful image!! Thank you for joining us this fortnight at OSAAT and good luck. Hugs

    NIKKI DT

  6. This is a lovely and very caring condolence card Karen, The image, which is beautiful, does reflect the desolation that the bereaved feels at such a sad time and your close attention to detail in you colouring and gentle embellishment shows the care of the giver. Sad occasion. ……beautiful card. Good luck in our extended challenge. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

  7. If you have to make one, and we all need to give them and unhappily receive them this one is so soothing. It is very serene in it’s beauty. Thank you for sharing this beautiful art with us at Word Art Wednesday.
    Blessings,
    Carole Robb Bisson

Leave a Reply

