Mom’s Sewing Notebook

I started making this for me – that is why it is blue instead of yellow…The more work I put into it the more I thought this would be perfect for my mom!  She is just getting into quilting again now that she has retired.  I figure this will be great for her to keep measurements and color schemes etc…in!  🙂  I followed the sketch from Cutie Sunday.  I thought I’d “distress it” some too.  I hand made the flowers.  My husband couldn’t believe I chose to use my measuring tape as my “ribbon”.  I used two different edge punches – the sewing one and the lacy one.  I used my alphabet dies for her name.  The blue and white polka dot paper is a FLD digi paper.  The adorable seamstress is a Bugaboo digi stamp.  And here are several shots of the notebook:

I am new at making paper flowers and didn’t want to make anything too difficult – now I can’t find the original video I used off Youtube (***tip*** If you are a visual/hands-on learner like me, YouTube is great to learn different techniques!!! ) so I’m going to share this one that is great too!  I chose to use two different sizes of scallop punches and only used two then a button.  Here is the video:

Thanks for looking!

Cutie Sunday – Sketch

Stampin Sisters in Christ – Recipe – Choose at least 3 of the following for one card. (ribbon (I’m counting my measuring tape as my ribbon) button, swirl, hat pin, brad, charm, popped up image)

Make It Monday – Inspire me!

Cupcake Craft – alter it (this is a composition book)

Lollipop Crafts – recycle it (most of the white paper has mistakes on the back, made with lots of scraps too)

Paper play time –  Vacation Themed using a stamped or digi image/sentiment – a lot of folks thing of the beach or lake when they think of a vacation – me, I think of my craft room!

Top Tip Tuesday –shabby chic

Party Time Tuesday – Anything Goes

Delightful Challenges – Digital Paper

Digi Doodle – anything goes

Shelly’s Images – Garden Party, make your own Flower Embellishments

Sew Many Cards – Edge Punch

Digis With Attitude – anything

Just Some Lines – ABC – Anything But a Card

Clear It Out –  Link It Up

Paper ShelterAnything Goes

Catered Crop – Recipe

Anything Goes Challenge Blog – Inspired by TV/Films (The American Quilter on Lifetime Real Women)

 

33 comments on “Mom’s Sewing Notebook

  1. Beautiful project! I really love it, just my colour too! Thanks for playing along this week at top Tip Tuesday with our ‘shabby chic challenge!

    Don’t miss this weeks 1st Birthday bash and challenge hugs Samantha – Top Tip Tuesday :0)

  2. This is beautiful. I love the colours and the design. Fab with that lace as well.Thanks for playing at Top Tip Tuesday and good luck. Hope to see you back tomorrow for a new challenge. Bettina

  3. Hi Karen, what an gorgeous altered notebook. I love the image and papers. The measuring tape is just perfect and matches the image so well. Thank you for sharing with us at cupcake craft challenge this week. Hugs, Denise x

  4. Karen,
    LOVE this project, what a wonderful gift for your Mom (or any fabric hoarder…um seamstress)
    Thanks for playing along with JSL’s “anything but a card” challenge!

    Laura JSL DT

  5. This is amazing, I love the way that you used the tape measure. Thanks for joining in with our Shabby Chic challenge at Top Tip Tuesday. Good luck in the draw. Annette. xx

  6. Love the image, perfect for anyone who is in to sewing would love that! Fab book thanks for playing along with us this week at Top Tip Tuesday with our shabby chic theme! Good Luck and hope to see you again soon xxx

  7. This is adorable!! Love the color theme and love the digi image! Your coloring is beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial and thanks for sharing your wonderful project with Paper Playtime 🙂

  8. This is fabulous.Love all the details especially the measuring tape.Thanks for joining us at DDSC.Hope to see you again next week 😀
    Lisa x

  9. Me, me, me….I’m Carol – do you think your mum would mind if you sent it to me instead? 😉
    I LOVE IT! Your use of the tape-measure is awesome! Fantastic idea! That image is just soooo perfect too – I love everything about it!

    Thanks so much for joining in with our Shabby Chic Challenge over at Top Tip Tuesday this week 🙂

    Carol x

  10. So completely creative! Love the flowers and the tape measure…wonderful. Very informative TIP also. 🙂
    Thanks so much for playing along with us at Top Tip Tuesday for our “Shabby Chic” challenge.
    Lisa xxx

  11. Wow! What a perfect image to go with your project!
    Thank you so much for joining us at Make it Monday! Remember, to be in the running to win the prize from our sponsor this week just leave a comment for another entry. Be sure to mention you saw them on Make It Monday. The more entries you comment on the more chances you have of winning!
    Rene 😀

  12. Pingback: Correspondence With Love « Busybusyhoneybee's Blog

Leave a comment