Day At The Beach

This weeks challenge at Gingerloft is “Under The Sea”.  I didn’t take the word “UNDER” to heart on this one…I did take the word “SEA” to heart however!

I grew up on the Oregon Coast (Coos Bay, Oregon).  I moved to Albany, Oregon (inland) just before my sophomore year of High School at Marshfield High School.  Okay I’m giving you my history because I wanted to point out the importance of the beach to me…  I am scared to death of the ocean believe it or not…I’ve been a lifeguard, I’ve been a swim teacher, I’ve been an aqua fitness instructor; but I’m scared to death of the ocean.  I know, I know…weird!  I’ve known of too many people who have just been walking along the jetty only to be swept up by the ocean and killed.  So, needless to say – I don’t like the power, the unknown qualities that make it able to sweep you into it’s belly.  I have a respect for what the ocean is.  Okay – with that being said…LOL  Wow – maybe this is just TMI (Too Much Information)?  But just one more thing you now know about me.  Right?

For this card I went sort of sweet and simple – it isn’t simple enough to be considered a CAS card, but for me, it is certainly sweet and simple.  I added some roses, some shells, and some pearls.  In the sun I added some gems.  I put some Glossy Accents on the fish.  The sentiment is a Close To My Heart rub-on.

Thanks for looking!

Tammy’s Scrapin Corner – Anything Goes

Make It Monday – Always ANYTHING GOES!

Victorine Stamps – FLOWERS

Hooked On Craft Challenges – Flowers

Crafting For All Seasons – handmade flowers

Sisterhood Of Crafters (no more than 3 entries) – May Flowers

Shelly’s Images Blog (up to 5 entries) – C’mon, Let’s Get Happy! (use something that makes you happy) anything card related makes me happy!

Crafty Ribbons Challenge – Flowers

Crafter’s Companion Monthly Challenge Blog – Here Comes Summer

Just Keep On Creating – Anything Goes and Travel Stories

The Paper Shelter – Anything Goes

Scrapbook Sisters –  Off Center

Digi Doodle Shop Challenges – Tic Tac Toe (A Bit of Spaarkle, Something new, pearls)

Moving Along With The Times – Nautical

Alota Rubber Stamps – All About Animals

2 Sisters Challenge blog – Make It Girlie

Craft Your Days Away Challenge – All Creatures Great and Small

Marks Finest Papers and Stamps – use chalk

20 comments on “Day At The Beach

  1. another great card Karen, thanks for all your beautiful submissions, all unique and gorgeous.

    Thanks so much for sharing your creation at Anything goes, Just keep on creating, I hope you will continue to play along. Sorry about the the delay in leaving my comment I have been overseas and then got sick, I will be announcing the winners and will have the next challenge up asap :):)

  2. Great summery card, i need a holiday i think. Thanks for taking part in the Crafters Companion Blog Challenge. Louise xx

  3. Hi busy bee and welcome again to Crafty Ribbons challenges; I know you’re a regular so I’ll probably see more of your creations even for this challenge…

    La Vikinga / Charlotta greets you from Sweden

  4. Cool card. Love the beach scene. Thanks for playing along with us here at Speedy Fox and Friends challenge, we hope to see you again next week. Make sure to check out our challenge with Friends of SpeedyTV for more fun and more chances to win with Mark’s Finest Papers, a Heinrich Co.

  5. Love the beach! Great use of chalk! Such a cute card love all the details! Thanks for joining us this week at Speedy Fox and Friends!

  6. wow! very serene! love this card! great colours and details!
    thankyou for joining the fun this time over at craft your days away challlenge!
    Hugs
    Jacqui P x

  7. Very cute card. Makes me want to head out to beach as soon as possible. Thanks for joining us for 2 Sisters make it girly challenge.

  8. Karen–this is very pretty! I love the flowers and the sea shells together for embellishments! Great job. Thanks for playing along with us this week at Speedy Fox and Friends challenge blog!

  9. Hi Karen, I love your ocean card. The dolphins are so cute and the glossy accents are perfect for them.

    Your card and story took me back to when we lived in the Azores and often seen a school of dolphins playing in the ocean.

    Thanks for joining us at Craft Your Days Away.

    Mari

  10. Fabulous image and I love your colouring and papers. Thanks for joining us at TPS, good luck with the challenge. hugs Shirleyxxxxx

Leave a comment